RESTAURANTS / 1960-1969



Featured Brand:

Wendy’s Old Fashioned Hamburgers
Founded on November 15, 1969 in Columbus OH by Dave Thomas
Currently has revenue of $2.4 Billion a year with 6,746 locations

Wendy's Old Fashioned Hamburgers® is the third largest quick-service hamburger restaurant chain in the world, with more than 6,700 restaurants in North America and international markets. Founded by Dave Thomas in 1969, Wendy's serves great hamburgers, made with fresh beef hot-off-the-grill and a choice of toppings. They also serve chicken sandwiches, fries, Frostys, soft drinks, and a variety of fresh, healthful foods - garden salads, grilled chicken sandwiches, baked potatoes, and chili.

Wendy's Parent Company, Wendy's International, Inc. also owns Tim Hortons® and Baja Fresh® Mexican Grill. They also have made investments in Cafe Express and Pasta Pomodoro®.

1960 Dominos Pizza Tom & James Monaghan Ypsilanti, MI www.dominos.com
  Hardees Wilber Hardee NC www.hardees.com
1961 Wienerschnitzel John Galardi Long Beach, CA www.wienerschnitzel.com
1962 Taco Bell Glen Bell Downey, CA www.tacobell.com
1964 Tim Hortons Tim Horton & Ron Joyce Hamilton, Ontario www.timhortons.com
  Arbys Raffel Bros "RB" Youngstown, OH  
  Blimpie Tony Conza Hoboken, NJ www.blimpie.com
  Del Taco Ed Hackbarth Yermo, CA www.deltaco.com
  Benihana Rocky Aoki New York, NY www.benihana.com
  Boston's Gourmet Pizza Gus Agioritis Edmonton, Alberta www.bostonsgourmet.com
  Villa Pizza Michele Scotto New York, NY www.villapizza.com
1965 H Salt Haddon Salt Sausalito, CA www.hsalt.com
  TGI Fridays Alan Stillman New York, NY www.tgifridays.com
  Subway Fred Deluca & Peter Buck Bridgeport, CT www.subway.com
1966 Sirloin Stockade  - Oklahoma City, OK www.sirloinstackade.com
  Doctor's Associates Inc. Fred Deluca & Dr. Peter Buck Bridgeport, CT www.subway.com
1967 Chick-fil-A Truett Cathy Atlanta, GA www.chickfila.com
  Taco Bill  - Queensland  
  Steer 'n Stein  - Huntington Bch, CA www.steernstein.com
  Minnie Pearl Chicken John Jay & Henry Hooker TN  
  D'angelo  - Dedham, MA www.dangelo.com
1968 Red Lobster Bill Darden Lakeland, FL www.redlobster.com
  Braum's Ice Cream Bill Braum OK www.braums.com
1969 Red Robin Sam Seattle, WA www.redrobin.com
  Taco Johns Juan Cheyenne, WY www.tacojohns.com
  Long John Silvers  -  - www.longjohnsilvers.com
  Old Spaghetti Factory Gus Dussin Portland, OR www.osf.com
  Arthur Treacher's  -  - www.arthurtreachers.com
  Captain D's  - Donelson, TN www.captainds.com
  Cracker Barrel Dan Evans & Tommy Lowe Lebanon, TN www.crackerbarrelocs.com
  Wendy's Dave Thomas Columbus, OH www.wendys.com



1961 James Monaghan trades his half of Domino’s Pizza  to brother Tom for a Volkswagen Beetle
  First Village Inn Franchise Opens
1964 Marie Calendars opens 1st full restaurant.
  John Brown & investors purchase KFC for $2 Million
1965 McDonalds goes public
  Nathan's Famous Hotdogs opens its 3rd Location
1966 KFC & Denny's goes public
1967 The Big Mac was developed to feed hungry  construction workers in Pittsburgh
1968 Foodmaker Inc. (Jack in the Box) bought by Ralston Purina Co
  J. Peter Grace Company purchases Coco's
  Burger Chef is sold to General Foods for $20 million
  Krystal Opens it's 100th Restaurant
1969 The 1000th Burger Chef Opens
  Arthur Treacher's purchases London Restaurant Malins (1860) and thus receives fish and chips recipe to use

Also at this time in History
Other Brands: 1962- Sam Walton opened his first Wal-Mart
  1965- Gatorade was developed as a drink for the Florida Gators
Other Things: Sesame Street debuted on Public Television
  The Beatles got their first US hit with "I Wanna Hold Your Hand."

© 2006  Dacy Media  All Rights Reserved


Other Sites by Dacy Nottingham


FIREupdate with Ranger AL

Hit Counter