HOME  |  STORE  |  SEARCH  |  NEWS  |  ABOUT  |  CONTACT

RESTAURANTS / 1990-1994

 
 
 NEWS
 SEARCH
 SUBMIT
 STORE
 

 

 
Featured Brand:
 

Chipotle Mexican Grill
Founded in 1993 in CO by Steve Ells
Currently has revenue of $650 Million a year with 500 locations


Chipotle Mexican Grill offers a focused menu of burritos, tacos, burrito bols (a burrito without the tortilla) and salads made from fresh, high-quality raw ingredients, prepared using classic cooking methods and served in a distinctive atmosphere. Through its vision of Food with Integrity, Chipotle is seeking better food not only from a variety of fresh ingredients, but ingredients that are sustainably grown and naturally raised with respect for the animals, the land, and the farmers who produce the food. Chipotle opened its first store in 1993 and operates more than 500 restaurants.

Chipotle was purchased by McDonald's in 1998 but announced in 2006 that it would sell it's shares by year end.

 
 
 
YEAR BRAND NAME FOUNDERS LOCATION LINK
       
1990 Jamba Juice Kirk Perron San Luis Obispo, CA www.jambajuice.com
  Caribou Coffee - - www.cariboucoffee.com
  Pufferbelly Station Restaurant Arvan Leany Grand Junction, CO  
  Zaxby's Zach McLeroy and Tony Townley Statesboro, GA www.zaxbys.com
  Baja Fresh Jim & Linda Magglos Newbury Park, CA www.bajafresh.com
         
1991 Kenny Rogers Roasters - - www.kennyrogers.cc
Pat & Oscars Oscar and Pat Sarkisian San Diego, CA www.breadstick.com
Pretzel Maker Jeffrey Trip Layton, UT www.pretzelmaker.com
Logan's Roadhouse - Nashville, TN www.logansroadhouse.com
       
1992 Bullets Burgers - Richmond, VA www.bulletsnet.com
  BD's Mongolian Barbeque Bill and Amy Downs Royal Oak, MI bdsmongolianbarbeque.com
         
1993 Juice Stop - - www.juicestop.com
PF Changs China Bistro - Scottsdale, AZ www.pfchangs.com
New World Coffee - Manhattan, NY www.newworld-coffee.com
Texas Roadhouse Kent Taylor Clarksville, IN www.texasroadhouse.com
Roadhouse Grill - Pembroke Pines, FL www.roadhousegrill.com
Chipotle Steve Ells CO www.chipotle.com
Atlanta Bread Company - Sandy Springs, GA www.atlantabread.com
Buca di Beppo - Minneapolis, MN www.bucadibeppo.com
       
1994 Pasta Pomodoro Adriano Paganini San Francisco, CA www.pastapomodoro.com
  Juice it up - Brea, CA www.juiceitup.com
  Buck's Pizza Mr Benton PA www.buckspizza.com
  Xando A. Stnzler, N. Marsh & D. Kaufman New York, NY www.getcosi.com
         
 

 

 

 
   
   
YEAR EVENT
   
1990 Robert Morris forms Sea View Rest. and buys back Gladstone's 4-Fish.
   
1991 500th Tim Horton's opens
   
1992 AFC buys Popeyes
  Starbucks goes public
  Pretzelvania changes name to Pretzelmaker
  The Cheesecake Factory goes public
  Restaurant Enterprises Group Purchases 160 Bob's Big Boy Locations
  Gladstones opens at Universal Citywalk
   
1993 Outback Steakhouse partners and eventually acquires Carrabba's Italian Grill
   
1994 Family Restaurants purchases Coco's.
  CKE restaurnats, Inc begins dual branding effort with Green Burrito
   
   
   

 
 
Also at this time in History
   
Other Brands: 1991- Sunchips are introduced by Frito-Lay
  1994- All Sport Energy drink is offered for the first time
   
Other Things: 1992- The Internet Society is chartered, and 1,000,000 host computers are connected in a network. The term "surfing the net" is coined by Jean Polly as an increasing number of people begin exploring the online world.
  1994- Nicole Simpson and Ronald Goldman are stabbed to death in Los Angeles, California. Five days later, O.J. Simpson is arrested for the murders.
   

2006  Dacy Media  All Rights Reserved

 
 
 
 
 

Other Sites by Dacy Nottingham

       

FIREupdate with Ranger AL
     
     
 

Hit Counter